Winter Tires

Last year I tried to find information on Winter Tires. Were they any good for Winter driving ? Would they actually perform any better than all season radials. In years past all season radials were just as good as winter tires. But, for all the looking I did, I could not find any information.

This year, my parents came up to help look after the new baby. Dad mentioned he always put on winter tires. This was news to me – I never recalled this sage advice before. But, after grumbling and complaining I decided to try them. In my role as a new dad, thoughts of and keeping the family safe was the driving motive.

I contemplated Michelin X-ice and $173/tire. But, as they were not in stock went with General Altimax Winter Tires at $130/tire. So seven hundred dollars later, I am glad I did. The car handle much better on the snow. I wish I had done it years ago.

Leave a Reply

