Pinboard vs. Delicious

I finally switched Pinboard. I didn’t know what was happening with Del.icio.us. With the recent changes the old functionality disappeared. I don’t even recognize the home page–it is all pictures with a low information to glitz ratio. The best thing I liked about Del.icio.us was subscriptions. I was able to see what other people had bookmarked for a given set of tags.

Del.icio.us in its current form is lacking subscriptions. Not only that, but my data was trapped. I tried to log in to Del.icio.us. But, I only had a 4 character password. I know the horrors of having a 4 character password that could be easily guessed at. But, I do not think my bookmark information needed any higher-level security. The Del.icio.us website does. It will not allow me to log in with a 4 character password. I can get to my old bookmarks, but I can’t get them out.

I finally passed the mourning of a really useful site. Then I started Pinboard. So while Pinboard does not support subscriptions, it just works, and my data is not trapped. It looks like a throw back to the Del.iciou.us of old, and I paid for it – I think it was worth the cost, but I wish I had done it earlier.

One response to “Pinboard vs. Delicious

  1. www.ajss.ac.nz March 22, 2014 at 9:58 am

    I’ve been browsing online greater than 3 hours today, but I
    by no means discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is beautiful value sufficient for me. Personally, if
    all site owners and bloggers made just right content as
    you did, the web will probably be much more
    helpful than ever before.

Leave a Reply

