How to make Mayonnaise without needing any skill

I’ve been trying to make mayonnaise off and on for a few years. I’ve only been successful once with the Bamix hand mixer. I tried a few months ago with the Vita mix and was sadly disappointed. There’s some strange alchemy with mixing eggs and oil but I am unable to comprehend or achieve consistently.

The problem I had with continuing my mayonnaise creation experiments, was having to throw out the resulting concoctions. I like to use free range eggs, but they are at least double the cost of regular eggs if not more. I was always heartbroken to throw out all the olive oil and eggs.

But finally, I ran into a couple recipes seem to help. I gave up entirely on attempting to achieve the right mixture of oil and egg. Instead, I used almonds for a vegan mayonnaise.

The first recipe I tried:

Marcona Almond Mayonnaise

Ingredients

  • ¼ cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon agave nectar
  • ½ cup olive oil
  • 2–4 tablespoons marcona almonds

Directions:

  1. Pour vinegar and agave into Vitamix and puree on high speed for 20 seconds until combined
  2. With motor running on medium or high, drizzle in olive oil to create an emulsion
  3. Don’t worry, if you don’t get the emulsification, the almonds will thicken up your mixture
  4. Blend in 2 tablespoons of almonds, then check for thickness and texture
  5. If necessary, blend in another tablespoon of almonds, until thick and creamy
  6. Serve with sandwiches, burgers and salads

I did not have any apple cider vinegar, so used regular vinegar instead and substituted honey for agave nectar. The mixture was too vinegary for assistant tasters. My son wrinkled his face at the taste of it and then told me he did not like it with all the innocent honesty a three is capable of. I think the apple cider vinegar would not have been so strong.

The second recipe used lemon instead of vinegar.

Almond Mayonnaise

Ingredients (use vegan versions):

  • 1 cup slivered blanched almonds
  • 3 1/2 ounces oil (1/3 cup is too little, 1/2 too much)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, optional
  • 5 ounces water, divided
  • 1/8–1/4 cup lemon juice

Directions:

  1. Place almonds, oil, salt and about 1/2 the water in blender. Process on high until smooth, 3–4 minutes.
  2. Add remaining water and continue blending until extremely smooth. Add lemon juice while blender is operating.
  3. Pour into 2 cup container and chill. This will set up as it chills.

If this doesn’t set up right, try adding a little of the runny stuff to 1/4 cup more slivered blanched almonds, process until smooth, then add the remaining runny stuff, process until well combined. Chill. If this doesn’t work, add a little more lemon juice. It is never ruined, because you can always add more of the nuts or lemon juice and it works out ok.

If it is too thick, put the lump in the blender and add 1/4 cup water, process until smooth and pour back into the container and chill. When you get the right proportions for your blender and taste, write them down. This is wonderful stuff.

I used whole almonds, soaked in warm water instead of silvered almonds. But, I slowly added the almonds to the Vita mix after the other ingredients. I also added a dash of mustard (did not have any mustard powder) and added 1 tsp of honey. The second recipe was a success. I suppose this is not really mayonnaise as I never really did achieve the correct emulsification, but the addition of almonds after mixing the oil and lemon juice meant that I could control the texture and solidity.

Finally I had egg free (and any worries about salmonella) vegan mayonnaise without a huge learning curve.

One response to “How to make Mayonnaise without needing any skill

  1. slc April 28, 2012 at 5:49 pm

    LOVE it!! Sounds good, and I have no skill!!! Win win!

Leave a Reply

