Goodbye Simplenote

I have been using simplenote for two years. It had been working very well with nvALT. I can create notes on my iPod touch (2nd gen), iMac or the old G4 iBook and have them synced everywhere. This particularly elegant chemistry broke down yesterday.

When I load Simplenote, it will attempt to sync and then crash – every time. I loaded the lastest version of Simplenote – no change. My query to tech support prompted this reply…

I’m very sorry you’re experiencing this. Are you able to update your iPod to iOS 4.3 or iOS 5? We’re doing some additional testing here to see what the problem might be with your particular configuration.

While I appreciate the reply and efforts, I was disappointed. I am unable to upgrade further, because the iPod Tocuh will not support anything higher than 4.2 (simplenote requires only 4.0 and higher) Nothing has changed on my end, and simplenote works just fine if I do not try and sync the notes. Something changed in the syncing process, causing the crashing. I am not the only one either.

It was with great sadness that I deleted simplenote and installed Notesy. Notsey syncs via dropbox. I transferred my nvALT files to dropbox and Notesy is able to read those notes. It seems to work and I do not have to rely on a third party service for syncing. I do not think dropbox will be changing their protocols anytime soon. But, I will miss Simplenote as it served faithfully and well for two years.

5 responses to “Goodbye Simplenote

  1. Matt June 22, 2014 at 5:27 pm

    Are you still on Notesy, or have you been able to give the new Simplenote clients a try?

    • niransab July 23, 2014 at 7:31 am

      Still going strong on Notesy. I really like its integration with Dropbox. nvALT is my go to app from the Mac side. The only thing I am missing from Simplenote is the web integration, but since the iPad mini usually travels with me, so do my notes.

      • Matt July 23, 2014 at 10:05 am

        I was on nvALT too but now using the Simplenote app in the Mac app store — it just feels cleaner.

      • niransab July 26, 2014 at 2:46 pm

        I was unaware of the simplenote app — thanks. nvALT/Notesy and Dropbox are my quick and dirty note taking system. The sync is fast and I can find my notes quickly. I am hesitant to go back to Simplenote after the last sync failure. Although I am dependent on three different programs (nvALT, Notesy and Dropbox), as long as Dropbox sync works I can use almost anything to get to my notes on my Mac or iPad, so this “feels” a little safer.

  2. www.instructables.com September 7, 2014 at 2:30 am

    This web site certainly has all the information I needed concerning this subject and didn’t
    know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

