Another Take on Ulysses 3

The Chandler Blog has a different take on Ulysses 3, which is well worth the read.

Ulysses III puts writing front and center, doing away with the "document" model. Instead, you compose text in "sheets" which can be organized into "groups" (basically folders). A sheet doesn't need a title, though you can add one with a Markdown header. There is an Inbox where you can compose loose bits of text for later organization or just get to writing.

Ulysses III puts writing front and center, doing away with the "document" model. Instead, you compose text in "sheets" which can be organized into "groups" (basically folders). A sheet doesn't need a title, though you can add one with a Markdown header. There is an Inbox where you can compose loose bits of text for later organization or just get to writing.

I must admit, my head is firmly stuck in the document model. I can not really fathom any other way of editing text on a computer. Perhaps this is also a reason why I do not find Drafts for ios useful. I usually have a topic or purpose/application in mind when I start writing.

Jonathan Poritsky, from the Chandler Blog continues with an interesting take on tagging and versions in Ulysses 3. These features did not interest me as much as I rarely use them with Scrivener, but the use of tagging and filters of different sections of his reviews is intriguing .

I'm using filters right now. I've got a few sheets for different sections of this review. Some sheets have the keyword @first-draft attached to them, some have @second-draft and some both. I've got filters limited to my Ulysses Review group for each keyword, so I can view each draft separately. By doing this, I'm able to edit the same sheet in both drafts, which jibes with my brain more than making multiple copies of the same text.

Leave a Reply

