Michelin Defender Sidewall Cracks

On Monday I discovered that my front right tire was completely flat. I had bought 4 Michelin Defender tires only a year ago. No big deal I thought, probably a nail or something big. When I took the tire in, they found sidewall cracks all around the tire and rubber bits inside.

I was not pleased to discover this as it seems to be an issue with the tire construction rather than a random accident. The tires have handled well, even in the winter and I was pleased with the mileage during the summer. Maybe this was just a freak manufacturing defect. Unfortuneately, other people have run into similar problems.

The good thing was that the defective tire was prorated, so the new one only cost $16. But, I hate the thought of the same thing happening with all the other tires.

Leave a Reply

