Search for the Perfect (Homemade) Pizza

The quest for the perfect homemade pizza has taken
a few years. The home made crust that I had been making were sadly
too hard. For a few years we made do with pre-made crusts from
Superstore. This was okay and better than any frozen pizzas, but
still not satisfactory. Then I found this
recipe

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1
    Tablespoon olive oil or melted butter
  • 2
    Tablespoon Sucanat (or granulated sweetener of your choice)-I use
    sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 Tablespoon dry active yeast
  • 1/2
    teaspoon each of basil, oregano, and garlic powder (optional, but
    make for an even more flavorful crust)
  • 2 3/4
    cups flour (see note above. If using 100% whole wheat, try adding a
    pinch of citric acid and/or ginger to help soften the

Flour

This was a great
start but my first attempt was less than spectacular. I had mixed
all the ingredients in the bread machine. Once I began hand mixing,
I realized that the amount of flour that was called for was too
much. For whatever reason if I followed the recommended amounts of
flour for any baking recipe , I would get a hard unyielding dough.
By putting in 25 % less flour I would get a softer more pliable
dough. I suspect this has something do do with the hard water or
our altitude.(In Edmonton ).

Mix the the
yeast,sugar and warm water in a bowl and let it sit for 10 minutes.
I consider the water to be warm if it is slightly uncomfortable to
my finger but I am able to tolerate it. Mix one cup of flour at a
time. After 2 cups, I then add flour slowly(a sprinkle at a time)
to achieve a soft, pliable , but not sticky dough. Knead the dough for 8 minutes. I let the dough
sit for 1–2 hours before rolling.

Toppings and Pizza Sauce

I find that
cooking the red bell pepers and mushrooms before they are baked
prevents the pizza from getting soggy.

<

p>The pizza
sauce is the most versatile component of the whole recipe. I use
tomato paste as a base. A small can is usually sufficient for one
pizza. I add a teaspoon of vidaloo
paste
, some pepper and mix well. I used to like adding a
small amount of jerk
seasoning to the mix, but it makes for a spicy pizza. l will add
this again once our son is older.

Baking

Oil both sides of the pizza
with olive oil(unless you are using a pizza stone), then bake at
400 for 10 minutes. Put, tomato paste mix, with precooked toppings
, raw onions, and garlic, and grated cheese on the partially baked
pizza . Then bake at 375 for 10–12 minutes.

Leave a Reply

