Loss of function

It seems that Circus Ponies Notebook is out of business.Aperture, which I find suits my needs perfectly well, is not supported in El Captain. Lightroom, which is its nearest competitor has a horrible user interface and I am sure will eventually go to a subscription only model just like every other Adobe product. YNAB 5 is going for a subscription model. Your personal financial data does not belong in the cloud. The new version of Dragon Dictate 5 is less than spectacular. It’s better than when it first came out, but it offers fewer choices for correcting mistakes. Since I use a lot of non-English names, it makes it much harder to do any kind of personal writing. Nuance is also pushing Dragon Dictate 5. I received more phone calls trying to sell this edition than before; this is even after I bought Dragon Dictate 5. They must not be liking the backlash of users that are displeased with their new version. I wonder how long it will be before they decide to go to a subscription model as well.The more time that passes, the less functional my software becomes and all I want to do is maintain what I have.

I almost want to freeze this Mac in time. Disconnected from Internet and keep the functionality that I have. Of course I need the Internet for some of the functionality. George R.R. Martin wrote “The Game of Thrones” in Wordstar. Perhaps, he had the right idea. Maybe keeping things old-school and text based is a better way to go. I know I won’t go this route and I say these things out of frustration and anger. Whether this is sad and depressing but perfectly good tools are cast away. Newer and supposedly better tools have no added functionality and are just a disguised way of getting more money in the pockets of companies.

4 responses to “Loss of function

  1. dnorman January 8, 2016 at 3:56 pm

    Gene Roddenberry used a CP/M computer to write everything.

    http://www.geek.com/news/data-from-200-floppy-discs-containing-unpublished-gene-roddenberry-works-recovered-1643990/

    I still have stuff on old Amiga and Mac floppies, hoping to some day salvage something. Future proofing content is fun. Sigh.

    • niransab January 13, 2016 at 9:06 am

      I was thinking of going back to paper and pen – can’t get more future proof than that. All you would need was for someone to understand my handwriting (reading CM/P disks may be easier). I’ve got some old zip disks, some 3.5 floppies and OS 9 stuff – you never know.

      • dnorman January 13, 2016 at 2:43 pm

        I’ve seen your handwrighting. This is not a step forward 😉

        I’m using an iPad pro now, with the fancy new pencil. Best digital ink I’ve ever used. But my penmanship is still the limiting factor there. I should have gone into medicine after all…

      • niransab January 16, 2016 at 9:49 pm

        Hey I’ve got the same set up. Something must be wrong with the thing though – I still draw and write the same. Apple needs some better products or maybe a more talented operator.

Leave a Reply

